14 airports now open for domestic flight - FG

Murtala Muhammed International Airport Lagos
Emeh Joy

The Federal Government announced on Sunday that 14 airports within the nation are now open for domestic, commercial flight operations.

The Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika, made this announcement via his official Twitter account saying that the airports had resumed domestic flight operations fully.

He said ministerial approvals for private and charter operations in and out of the 14 airports were not required as the public would get notifications as regards the other airports in due course.

The minister listed out the 14 airports that would be operating on domestic flights. They include the Murtala Mohammed International Airport, Lagos; Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja; Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano; and the Port Harcourt International Airport, Omagwa.

The Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika

He also pointed out the Sam Mbakwe Airport, Owerri; Maiduguri Airport, Maiduguri; Victor Attah Airport, Uyo; Kaduna Airport, Kaduna; Yola Airport, Yola.

Also in teh list was the Margaret Ekpo Airport, Calabar; Sultan Abubakar Airport, Sokoto; Birni Kebbi AIrport; Yakubu Gowon Airport, Jos; and Benin Airport, Benin.

Commercial flight activities in Nigeria was shut down by the Federal Government for about three months in line with response measures to combat the spread of the novel coronavirus.

The government started gradual reopening of the airports on July 8 when it first reopened the Lagos and Abuja airports.

About four other airports were later opened on July 15 before Sirika made his announcement on Sunday.

The minister further added that inspection had been completed on the 14 airports and that the FG has approved the resumption of operations at the facilities.

Share With Friends