FG approves N148bn compensation to five states for federal road construction

President Muhammadu Buhari signing documents
Ernest Sunday

The Federal Government of Nigeria has approved the repayment of N148 billion to five states to cover the costs they incurred for repairing federal roads.

The Federal Executive Council (FEC) has approved therepaymentt of funds spent on federal roads by some state governments. The total sum to be refunded to five states is reported to be N148,141,987,161.25. The target states are Cross River State, Ondo State, Osun State, Bayelsa State and Rivers State.

According to news reports, the memo was presented by the minister of works and housing, Babatunde Fashola, at the third virtual council meeting presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari inside the Council Chambers of the State House on Wednesday, June 3.

List of states approved to be refunded money spent on federal road construction


Refund Amount

Cross River state


Ondo state


Osun state


Bayelsa state


Rivers state


The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, who briefed newsmen on behalf of Fashola, said the council had also warned that there would be no repayment in future should any state government venture into such projects without the approval of the federal government.

Share With Friends